I Got A Spark Today…

…or more to the point; I got a Kindle today.  My lovely wife, after hearing me talk about my self-publishing on the Kindle, after tolerating my asking of her to look at endless Kindle test files on Kindle for PC during the learning process, surprised me with Kindle of my own on my birthday.  I’ve looked at the Kindle often in Best Buy, and decided that was the one I was going to buy if i had the chance.  Not to put down the Nook.  The Nook color looks really nice, and demo’d well for me in the store.  But I find it to be too bulky and too heavy for my taste, as an E-reader.

So far, its exceeded my expectations and it actually couldn’t have come at a better time.

I’ve started studying for some Microsoft certifications for work and got the study guides this week.   900 pages each. ‘Ugh’, as a co-worker would say.  But the creators of these guides were forward thinking enough to include e-book copies of the guide as .pdf files on the accompanying DVD.  Well, guess what two, big books I don’t need to lug around anymore.  🙂

Beyond that, I now feel like I’ve ‘officially’ joined the new age of publishing.  I know there’s no shortage of free options to read ebooks.  As I said, I’ve been using Kindle for PC.  I also use Nook for PC, albeit, mostly for proofing my files before publication. So it stands to reason that having an actual handheld e-reader shouldn’t make me feel any differently as a E-publisher.

All I can do is shrug my shoulders and say, with a smile, “I think I’ll get over it.”

I also feel like the Kindle has set off a spark (if you’ll pardon the pun) for my writing.  Now I have the capability to put a completed manuscript right on the device when its done.  Seeing it on that electronic page, just makes it seem more professional.  I know that’s silly, but if its silly thoughts  that get me engerized to write…well, I say again:  I’ll get over it.

So this post is dedicated to my wonderful wife; April, who after ten years, still knows how to bring a smile to my face – with or without this wonderful gift.

About Thomas J. rock

Writer of Science Fiction

Posted on July 7, 2011, in The Daily Grind and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s awesome! Good work, April and happy birthday, Jack! If you’re looking for a free book check out my audiotim podcast, I’m giving away copies of Mur Lafferty’s Marco and the Red Granny. Kindle is the way to go. I have over ten paperbacks to read on my shelf and I’m still looking at a new book to get on my Kindle. I love my Kindle version cover with the booklight. Well worth it to have that light, imo.

Leave a Reply

