Indie Writers: Make MS Word Work for You Instead of Against You

Any input for making MS Word work better for me and my ebooks is always welcomed. Word users, take heed.

QA Productions

A Quick Primer for Fiction Writers in using Microsoft Word in the Digital Age

It always saddens me a little when a writer sends me an overly formatted Word doc to turn into an ebook or print-on-demand. It’s not that I have to clean it up–I can strip and flip the messiest files in less than an hour. What bugs me is how much thought and effort the writer wasted on utterly useless manuscript styling.

Example of a Word doc that has been overstyled. Example of a Word doc that has been overstyled.

The majority of writers I work with use Word. The vast majority have no idea how to use Word for their own benefit. I understand. I was a fiction writer for over two decades and even though I have been using computers and a variety of word processing programs since the late ’80s, it wasn’t until I started learning book production that I figured out how…

View original post 1,369 more words

About Thomas J. rock

Writer of Science Fiction

Posted on May 22, 2014, in The Daily Grind. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

