2016 Goals Review and Self-Criticism – Jan-Feb

So it’s time for me to take a few minutes and review the progress of my 2016 writing goals that I outlined in December.

(This isn’t going to be pretty)

Goal #1:  Write 1,250 words a day – This is pretty straight forward.  Based on my word tracking from October to now, this is about my daily average,  But that number was achieved with variable daily numbers of anywhere from 80 to 5,000 words a day.  The goal would be to hit this number consistently as a minimum when I’m working on a project.

GRADE – FAIL!!!  More regular life interference than usual, but I know there is more I can do.  NANOWRIMO taught me that.  Sleep is overrated.

 

Goal #2:  Develop an outlining system – For NaNoWriMo, I had a very rough outline and it did a lot to keep the words flowing.  I think better planning before starting a project can only help.

GRADE – PASS**  (**system is not fluid, yet.  Still have to work out a couple things to streamline the format)

 

Goal #3:  Self-Publish a story every other month – This is the most ambitious of my goals for the coming year, but the point of goals is to challenge ones self.  I managed to publish one short story earlier this month.  My hope, here, is for these stories to be at least novella length, but I might be able to get a novel out in this schedule.

GRADE – ABJECT FAILURE!!! Try as we might, one absolutely cannot publish anything when nothing has been written.

 

Goal #4:  Blog posts every other week – This, of course, presumes I’ll have something interesting to say that often  🙂

GRADE – PASS**  (**Had four posts in January, one in February, plus this one.  I call it PASS based on the average)

 

Goal #5:  More Twitter – Same as above  🙂

GRADE – FAIL  (Just a failure.  Time can’t be an excuse.  It’s only 140 characters, for cryin’ out loud!  Although I didn’t feel like I had enough interesting things to say and retweets don’t count.)

 

GRADE to date for 2016:  FAIL!!! 

I’ve got a lot of work to do if I want to salvage Q1.

 

Till next time…

About Thomas J. rock

Writer of Science Fiction

Posted on March 10, 2016, in The Daily Grind and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

